Good looking Kaypro II

Discuss any interesting vintage computer Trade Me items here

Good looking Kaypro II

Postby tezza on Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:40 am

I'm tempted myself but I think the price is going to go beyond what I can justify as a spare.

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing ... =393706375

These are cool machines and it's good to see them come up for sale now and again. In working condition even. That screen alignment is not hard to fix. As for the raster..hmm..not sure but it could be just dirty pots. Too bad about about the keycap.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby Gibsaw on Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:08 am

And speaking of relatives of the kaypro... some people must think there's a sucker born every minute.

An Osborne, but the guy's pretty much trying to weasel out of any responsibility ("doesn't power up") AND ask $500 for it!!!

I've pointed out he can't have it both ways and that if he wants to ask top dollar, he's going to need to FIND a power cord.

We'll see how he responds, but I suspect he'll just think I'm an nuisance trying to ruin his auction. :)
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby tezza on Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:25 pm

I haven't seen the Osborne auction details (and I can't get TradeMe at work here) but if he says "doesn't power up" then at least the buyer knows what he's getting. $500 seems unrealistic to me but people can list at what they like, it doesn't worry me. The market will decide.

At least it's more up front than the DEC Rainbow 500 listing on there at the moment which "when stored was working". Well, is it working now? Who knows, but surely it's not too hard to just plug it in, fire it up and let potential buyers know what happens? Where the real current state of affairs of the item hasn't been reported in the listing, I assume they are broken. But it actually goes further than that with me...I'm loath to buy them just on principle.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby Gibsaw on Fri Jul 29, 2011 12:49 pm

tezza wrote:<snip> it doesn't worry me. The market will decide.

Up to a point. I always get a sour taste when it feels like someone is trying to find a sucker.

tezza wrote:At least it's more up front than the DEC Rainbow 500 listing on there at the moment which "when stored was working".

I'm inclined to say the two are exactly the same. He says it doesn't power up, but then by saying in brackets "no power cord", he's trying to imply that it SHOULD without actually saying so.

tezza wrote:But it actually goes further than that with me...I'm loath to buy them just on principle.

... and it goes one further than that with me. When I think someone's trying it on, I feel the urge to give them shit. :D
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby tezza on Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:15 pm

Gibsaw wrote:[I'm inclined to say the two are exactly the same. He says it doesn't power up, but then by saying in brackets "no power cord", he's trying to imply that it SHOULD without actually saying so.


Oh I see. Yes, as I said, I can't see the listing. If that is the case, I agree. From memory (I'll check tonight) the Osborne takes a standard PC-type power cord. Not exactly hard to find.

Yea, give 'em hell! :) I bet these sellers just hate guys like us asking those "awkward" questions. :D
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby lizardb0y on Sat Jul 30, 2011 10:58 pm

I see the Osborne now has a $2,500 Buy Now.
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby lizardb0y on Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:13 pm

By 2 bits worth on the Osborne Auction:

Q Hi, I have a couple of Osborne 1s right here and can confirm that they both take a standard IEC C13 plug exactly the same as any standard computer power cord. Good luck with your auction - mine cost me under $150 each so you'll be doing well to get you $2,500 Buy Now. andrew9 (349 ) 10:54 pm, Sat 30 Jul

Q Actually - I should clarify; I have assumed you are selling an Osborne 1a as the original Osborne 1 has a permanently attached power cord which is unlikely to get lost. Can you confirm which verison you are selling? andrew9 (349 ) 11:09 pm, Sat 30 Jul
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby Carcenomy on Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:44 am

At least there are some honest folk out there, the SX64 that's currently up is looking pretty honest. I hope you succeed matsondawson, you're closer than me so do it!
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby matsondawson on Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:46 am

I'm guessing the SX-64 has a dead basic ROM, I have some spares from the last one I bought, so hopefully that will fix it.
Not sure how much I'd be willing to part with for it, I think i paid maybe 250 for the last one, but it was working.
I've always wanted to make a VIC-20 version of the SX-64
matsondawson
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:34 pm

Re: Good looking Kaypro II

Postby YetiSeti on Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:49 pm

This one says all them things and a whole lot more - 'Sinclair Spectrum Z80 Computers and Manuals' :
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Antiques-colle ... 508817.htm

I dont know if they work - but they used too - and the last time they were plugged in they most certainly did. Hence this is "as is". Note that no power supplies included but they take standard plugpacks.

One keyboard rubber comes off but it actually looks like it would still be OK.

I guess if I bought this auction I could consider my book collection complete.
I also am selling a complete set of books as you can see
YetiSeti
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:27 pm


Return to Trade Me

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest