Switch to full style

Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

by jeroenvk90 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:20 am

Hello everyone,

A few months back I got a deskpro from a frend and I'm trying to get it back to working order. I have fixed the dallas batery and it remembers the time again but it has lost all of the bios settings. normally you get to the bios via the hard disk with these old compaq's but this one does not have a harddisk, it ownly has a 3.5 & a 5,25 inch floppy disk drive.

I have downloaded the sp0308.exe diagnostic disk to create a new boot disk but the disk keeps failing, the program tells me the new disk does not match the master.

can anyone tell me how I can fix this or does someone have an immage of the 720k bootdisk? I've been working on this all day and it keeps giving me the same errors.

thanks

Jeroen van Kalkeren
jeroenvk90
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:22 am

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

by SpidersWeb » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:45 am

Is the error coming from the Compaq, or the SP0308.exe when creating the floppy?
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

by jeroenvk90 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:55 am

SpidersWeb wrote:Is the error coming from the Compaq, or the SP0308.exe when creating the floppy?


it is the program itself
jeroenvk90
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:22 am

Re: Compaq Deskpro 386/20e

by LS120 » Mon Feb 06, 2017 9:49 am

will check as i think i have a full un opend set of compaq dos 3.3 or 4.01 here and they had setup disks..

think i have some 286 slt etc disks as well.
LS120
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 9:19 pm
Location: Wellington


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests