disk drive belt

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

disk drive belt

Postby extra_anchovy on Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:16 pm

I've been wondering why my SF-7000 disk station wasn't working after I replaced the belt. the original one that came with it was almost disintegrated so I had to replace it. then I checked the tutorial on sc-3000.com and it says the belt must be 70mm x 3mm. measured the one I used, which was a famicom disk system drive belt and it was 100mm. anyone know where can I find a replacement belt, i'm having a bit of trouble locating one
extra_anchovy
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:04 pm

Re: disk drive belt

Postby lizardb0y on Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:20 pm

Is it likely to be the same belt as the Amstrad and Spectrum 3" drives? There was a guy in the UK who was selling newly manufactured belts for these. I bought done off him 6 or 7 years ago. I'll look for his contact details for you.
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: disk drive belt

Postby honestbob on Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:01 pm

I bought Spectrum drive belts from retrocomputershack on eBay about 12 months ago that worked nicely with the SF-7000. I think it was the equivalent of these:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sinclair-Spectr ... 3cb4668acd
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sinclair-Spectr ... 3cb46686db

The tutorial on changing the belt on sc-3000.com is very good. You can't go too far wrong with that :)
honestbob
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:21 am
Location: New Zealand


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron