Open Workbench Logic Analyser

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

Open Workbench Logic Analyser

Postby lizardb0y on Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:05 pm

I've just bit the bullet and ordered one of these, along with a transceiver board and probes to sniff TTL on all 32 channels.

http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/open-w ... ?cPath=174

Now I need to get a better understanding of how to use it effectively. Does anyone know of any tutorials on using logic analysers for diagnostics on old PCs?
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Open Workbench Logic Analyser

Postby tezza on Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:36 pm

lizardb0y wrote:Now I need to get a better understanding of how to use it effectively. Does anyone know of any tutorials on using logic analysers for diagnostics on old PCs?

Not me. I know nothing about them but it does sound like something that SHOULD be helpful. I wonder what advantage it has over ye ole 'scope?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Open Workbench Logic Analyser

Postby Gibsaw on Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:11 am

tezza wrote:
lizardb0y wrote:Now I need to get a better understanding of how to use it effectively. Does anyone know of any tutorials on using logic analysers for diagnostics on old PCs?

Not me. I know nothing about them but it does sound like something that SHOULD be helpful. I wonder what advantage it has over ye ole 'scope?

Nothing in particular... except that it will do what your scope does for 32 diagnostic points at once... in properly synchronised graphs.

If there's no actual clock sync, or data's not actually hitting the bus, or the CPU's not even attempting to read the memory.. I'd imagine you'll get a fairly clear picture right away.
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron