Blacklisted

Discuss topics which do not fit into any of the forums above

Blacklisted

Postby RonTurner on Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:06 am

I'm blacklisted from Aron's auctions ? (Vagabond)

I haven't had anything to do with him , in fact he offered me a fixed price offer a couple of days ago ?

I'm gonna have to find my kids gloves ! :lol:
Last edited by RonTurner on Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Blacklisted

Postby Gibsaw on Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:30 am

Is he on here? Seems unusual to blacklist unless you were asking "prickly" questions. (You know... really strange shit like "perhaps you could plug it in and tell us whether it works")

I'm definitely on the blacklist for the dreamer offering that so called "bulk deal". Can't remember what prickly question I asked, but I think I suggested he engage with the community here. Apparently his ego is too fragile for "comments". :D
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Blacklisted

Postby RonTurner on Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:35 am

I thought they have to be 13 years or older to join trade-me ?

I have been flamed several times for asking if something works.

I haven't asked vagabond any questions, bid on his items or anything ?

It is spectrum stuff and I am guilty of purchasing a C64

Next time I ask a question on Trade-Me its gonna start like "can you please ask your mum....." or "hey when daddy gets home from work can you ask him if ...."
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Blacklisted

Postby lizardb0y on Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:14 pm

RonTurner wrote:
Next time I ask a question on Trade-Me its gonna start like "can you please ask your mum....." or "hey when daddy gets home from work can you ask him if ...."


That might be the reason right there.
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Blacklisted

Postby Matt on Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:24 pm

Gibsaw wrote:I'm definitely on the blacklist for the dreamer offering that so called "bulk deal". Can't remember what prickly question I asked, but I think I suggested he engage with the community here. Apparently his ego is too fragile for "comments". :D


That guy is deluded but he's consistently deluded ($1300 every relist). What I've been noticing is people will get no bids then they relist at a way higher price. WTF!? Actually I sometimes feel like I'm kind of over tm. I ran an ad in the paper yesterday. Didn't know what to expect but I've been pleasantly surprised. Apparently there is a world outside the internet - who knew. Still looking for that elusive apple-in-the-garage though :-)

Matt.
Matt
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 1:54 pm
Location: Seacliff, East Otago (Greater Dunedin)

Re: Blacklisted

Postby RonTurner on Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:47 pm

I'm not bothered by what a seller values there gear, if its to high no one will touch it, no harm done. Maybe he considers worth that much or he would rather hold on to it.

but I would like to see him move the IIc monitor off the GS and put it with the IIc :wink:

what does bother me is when you ask if it works and they get angry, ignore you or blacklist you for wanting to know if it currently works.

Last years punch line was *going in the bin if no one bids* this years punch line is *used to go 30 years ago*

The punch line I want to hear is *Was powered up today and it works fine, just added photo of it turned on so you can see*

its tough to get a good deal when snipers are all over the place 8)
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Blacklisted

Postby SpidersWeb on Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:57 am

My favorite is actually 'plugged it in' combined with 'nothing happens' or 'I let the smoke out'.
Unless of course it comes with a three digit reserve.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Blacklisted

Postby lizardb0y on Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:33 am

My favourite is "plugged it in and it works fine" which after a question or two ends up being "plugged the power in and a light turned on."
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Blacklisted

Postby tezza on Mon Feb 03, 2014 8:18 am

Yes. The term "Powers on" often means the power light goes on. Nothing more.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Blacklisted

Postby Gibsaw on Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:21 am

RonTurner wrote:...but I would like to see him move the IIc monitor off the GS and put it with the IIc :wink:

I see that causes a tick for you too.. :)
RonTurner wrote:The punch line I want to hear is *Was powered up today and it works fine, just added photo of it turned on so you can see*

This is my goal also. I don't mind the "let the magic smoke out" one though. It's at least a vaguely known condition that usually is just caps, although sometimes not.

As an example, I went to pick up a "magic smoke" IIe from antiphrasis a couple of nights back. Took a working PSU with me. The dual drive one (yet to appear on TM) went fine. I think he's going to re-cap the PSU, now that it's shown to be working.

The single one showed no life and has an... interesting... flickering power LED on the MB. I suspect that's my PSU's short protection saying "turn me off!! turn me off!! turn me off!!".

So a bit of bad luck there... Nothing obviously swollen/blackened/burnt so I have a bit of investigation to do on that one. (Looking suspiciously at the row of caps and diodes by the power connector.)
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Blacklisted

Postby tezza on Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:49 am

Gibsaw wrote:So a bit of bad luck there... Nothing obviously swollen/blackened/burnt so I have a bit of investigation to do on that one. (Looking suspiciously at the row of caps and diodes by the power connector.)

Absolutely. I had to replace two in one of my apples. The first one was obvious (burnt/blackened), the second one not so (but a test showed it was shorted). The symptom was the ominous click-click which showed the PSU was not a happy-chappy.

Image
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Blacklisted

Postby RonTurner on Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:54 pm

SpidersWeb wrote:My favorite is actually 'plugged it in' combined with 'nothing happens' or 'I let the smoke out'.
Unless of course it comes with a three digit reserve.


My favourite is * it wont tune into my modern TV set * :?
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Blacklisted

Postby tezza on Tue Feb 04, 2014 7:44 am

RonTurner wrote:My favourite is * it wont tune into my modern TV set * :?

Depending on the machine this can be valid. My ZX-81 for example has real trouble tuning into any modern TV set. Autofind just skips over it, or even if it does find it, it's hard to get a good signal. On older TVs it's not a problem.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Blacklisted

Postby SpidersWeb on Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:10 am

Yeah it's funny these days. I actually keep a VCR around as an RF -> RCA adaptor.
Been thinking I should probably get a cheap 14" TV set for the workshop.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Blacklisted

Postby tezza on Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:21 am

SpidersWeb wrote:Been thinking I should probably get a cheap 14" TV set for the workshop.

Not a bad idea. People can't even give them away these days.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Next

Return to Other Off-Topic Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests