Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Anything to do with New Zealand Classic or Vintage Computing not covered in the other forums

Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby Clym5 on Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:38 pm

My main rig is without a floppy drive connector on the motherboard, and I would like to install a 5' floppy drive in it. Does anyone know of a readily available PCI card that could remedy this issue?

USB would work, but the only USB FDDs are the 3" ones..
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby SpidersWeb on Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:07 pm

I haven't seen any - I use a USB 1.44 drive on occasion but that's it. The closest might be a KyroFlux, that is used to perform analysis/imaging of various floppy media through special software.
For the sake of reading/writing media the general practice is to use a tweener PC - and if you pop it on the network, it can be a pretty smooth setup.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1129
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby Clym5 on Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:09 pm

Ah, I see. Thanks for that! I'll put a tweener together. I have a few Socket 7(?) motherboards around with USB too, so that should be good.

I've always had issues with 'new' PCs like that. No drivers that I can find for some, absolutely lethargic speed, and other things, but I'm sure I'll get it to work this time!
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby kevman3d on Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:57 am

There's this option... Adapter for 5.25 to connect via USB... It says it also works with drives from other computers (not just PC - ie. Apple, Amiga, etc) so looks actually pretty cool. Its around US$55

http://shop.deviceside.com/prod/FC5025

The same site also sells internal port USB cards as well - though some mobo's have pins to allow extra USB ports, so its likely that this could be used with a little wiring, etc.
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby Carcenomy on Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:26 pm

As a heads up to anyone wanting to use floppy drives on new PCs, Windows 10 Tech Preview does NOT support floppy drives at all.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby kevman3d on Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:37 pm

Carcenomy wrote:As a heads up to anyone wanting to use floppy drives on new PCs, Windows 10 Tech Preview does NOT support floppy drives at all.


Guess I'm not surprised really. Most Mobo's don't come with Serial or Parallel ports these days (since USB does it all) and most PC's you buy retail don't usually ship with 3.5" FDD's either. I guess OS's would eventually follow suit and start phasing out legacy support... :?
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby LilJoe on Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:04 pm

Meanwhile in the world of linux...
There are only 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.Image
If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0
Roses are #FF0000, Violets are #0000FF.
LilJoe
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:51 pm
Location: Waitakere, Auckland

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby kevman3d on Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:15 am

LilJoe wrote:Meanwhile in the world of linux...


:lol:
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: Any way to use FDDs on newer PCs?

Postby Carcenomy on Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:02 pm

kevman3d wrote:
Carcenomy wrote:As a heads up to anyone wanting to use floppy drives on new PCs, Windows 10 Tech Preview does NOT support floppy drives at all.


Guess I'm not surprised really. Most Mobo's don't come with Serial or Parallel ports these days (since USB does it all) and most PC's you buy retail don't usually ship with 3.5" FDD's either. I guess OS's would eventually follow suit and start phasing out legacy support... :?

I haven't seen a new motherboard with integrated floppy controller since the crossover between Socket 775 and Socket 1156 - early this decade. Last machine with a new 3.5" drive I saw was from 2007 - drive required as the Windows installer didn't yet know how to load additional drivers during setup from sources other than floppies, was needed for machines using RAID.

All the more reason to keep some of the old girls around I guess.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests