Switch to full style

SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

Anything to do with New Zealand Classic or Vintage Computing not covered in the other forums

SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by tezza » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:06 am

Even our old toys sometimes need new toys. My latest acquisition...
http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blo ... -atari.htm

Image
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by TheM » Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:19 pm

I don't have that one but I've been working on this:
http://whizzosoftware.com/sio2arduino/

I have a non working Atari 1010 so the plan is to end up with something like this:
http://atariage.com/forums/uploads/mont ... _thumb.jpg

Got all the parts, modified the SIO2Arduino software and assorted libs to work with my parts (doesn't exactly match any of the already supported configurations).
Now at the point where it's ready to be hooked up to Atari and tested but haven't done that yet.
Putting it inside 1010 also still TODO.
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by tezza » Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:43 pm

Nice one. Good luck with it!
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by kevman3d » Thu Jul 09, 2015 4:05 pm

TheM wrote:I don't have that one but I've been working on this:
http://whizzosoftware.com/sio2arduino/


Wow. That is a cool project! Let me know how it goes as it looks like a lot of fun.
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by TheM » Thu Jul 09, 2015 4:34 pm

You can currently get all the parts I used for less than 12 USD shipped -- I bought these:
UNO R3: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/high-qua ... 80366.html
LCD 1602 with Keypad: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/1602-LCD ... 36618.html
Logging Shield: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Shi ... 82611.html

Source requires same changes as this configuration isn't supported and when you add this configuration and correct libraries there is not enough RAM left.
I fixed all that and currently have it working to the point where I can see card contents on the LCD.
Haven't hooked it up to my 130XE to see if it loads yet as I don't want to butcher my only SIO cable and haven't had time to gut my broken 1010 and put it inside (got sidetracked with building a new PSU for Atari).

If you want to give it a go and buy those cheap parts let me know and I'll email you modified source for those parts.
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by kevman3d » Thu Jul 09, 2015 4:53 pm

Ah, good old Aliexpress... A dangerous place to start browsing for stuff - I managed to eat up a couple of hours just seeing how cheap I could find random things. :lol:
I have a boxed 1050 FDD (though no PSU to run it - someone said 9VAC with 3+ amps?) or any FDD's either. But this type of solution is much more appealing of course. Maybe I can find an old damaged 1050 or 1010 for a case.

Thanks for the links. I'll go and dig around and see if the wife will loosen the purse strings... :roll:
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by kevman3d » Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:44 pm

Bits ordered... :) I'll tell the wife later (though its my credit card, so it won't matter - apart from a couple of head shakes I'm sure :D )

How long did it take for your order to arrive. I know I've had rather long wait times on some things shipping from China/HK, and then there's the ones that arrive in less then 2 weeks... :)

Haven't played with an Arduino - Raspberry Pi, yes. Will be interesting I'm sure.

Found this site sells SIO cables for Atari. Relatively cheap ($8.00 - $12.00). Websites pretty nasty looking (no web designers involved here I suspect) - I've shot the guy an email to ask if he ships outside NZ... I'll let you know what he says in case you're interested...

http://www.best-electronics-ca.com/8-bit_.htm
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by Audronic » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:52 pm

kevman3d wrote:Ah, good old Aliexpress... A dangerous place to start browsing for stuff - I managed to eat up a couple of hours just seeing how cheap I could find random things. :lol:
I have a boxed 1050 FDD (though no PSU to run it - someone said 9VAC with 3+ amps?) or any FDD's either. But this type of solution is much more appealing of course. Maybe I can find an old damaged 1050 or 1010 for a case.

Thanks for the links. I'll go and dig around and see if the wife will loosen the purse strings... :roll:



Yes 9VAC 3Amps +.
I have wired mine up to a PC Power Supply +5 and +12 hard wired to PCB about 5 minutes to do

Good Luck on finding a Power supply I have been looking for about 2 years, NO go.

Ray
Audronic
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by kevman3d » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:54 pm

Actually, found another source for Atari SIO connectors (newly made ones) here.

http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=85

Yes 9VAC 3Amps +.
I have wired mine up to a PC Power Supply +5 and +12 hard wired to PCB about 5 minutes to do


As in an AT/ATX power supply?
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by TheM » Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:40 am

Best Electronics web site looks dodgy but it isn't -- they have been selling Atari stuff for 30 years. Here's an interview with the owner, Brad Koda:
http://ataripodcast.libsyn.com/antic-in ... lectronics

There are a few other Atari vendors still in business:
http://ataripodcast.libsyn.com/antic-in ... tervisions
http://ataripodcast.libsyn.com/antic-in ... tari-sales
http://ataripodcast.libsyn.com/antic-in ... l-westphal

I've seen Lotharek's printed SIO connectors and have been thinking about them. But if he can print'em, why couldn't I? Hmmm....
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by TheM » Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:55 am

kevman3d wrote:Thanks for the links. I'll go and dig around and see if the wife will loosen the purse strings... :roll:


I ordered those bits because at first I was planning to put everything in a small project box, not 1010, so the idea was to have it all in shields that just slot together (no wires).

However, you can buy the parts much cheaper if you don't mind the wires (and if installing into 1010 then this is actually a better option):
UNO R3 (2.78 USD): http://www.aliexpress.com/item/high-qua ... 80366.html
SD card reader (1.00 USD): http://www.aliexpress.com/item/1x-Good- ... 27775.html
You can even find it for 0.90 USD but this version uses more pins: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/SD-card- ... 53585.html
1602 LCD without buttons; nicer to install buttons under 1010 tape switches (1.55 USD): http://www.aliexpress.com/item/LCD-1602 ... 15918.html
5 push buttons, or just scavenge in your pile of discarded electronics :) (1.02 USD): http://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-Quee ... 90498.html

That's a grand total of 6.35 USD including more expensive card reader and buttons, or 5.23 USD if taking cheaper SD card reader and no buttons. And that's shipped.
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by TheM » Fri Jul 10, 2015 11:48 am

kevman3d wrote:How long did it take for your order to arrive. I know I've had rather long wait times on some things shipping from China/HK, and then there's the ones that arrive in less then 2 weeks... :)


I don't remember exactly but parts usually arrive in two to four weeks. However, on a few occasions I had to wait around 70 days. That's very rare, though and hasn't happened recently (more likely to happen around December and January).

To maximize your chances of getting things in a reasonable amount of time try to avoid anyone shipping with "Seller's Shipping" method. Chinese Post is usually very reliable (only once had a long wait with Chinese post) but the cheapest prices usually come with "Sellers' Shipping". "Seller's Shipping" can be anything, there are many new shippers and they are actually getting better. This year had no issues with anything shipped with one of those alternative shippers, almost everything arrived within two weeks.

If things do take a very long time to arrive, keep an eye on your Purchase Protection and request extension when it gets down to a week. If you get no reply in a few days, check seller's store -- if it's empty that means they stopped trading so you need to request a refund. Alibaba keeps all the money until you confirm delivery (or PP expires, at which point they assume it arrived) so you'll get it back as long as you requested a refund before PP expired.
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by Audronic » Fri Jul 10, 2015 2:13 pm

kevman3d wrote:Actually, found another source for Atari SIO connectors (newly made ones) here.

http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=85

Yes 9VAC 3Amps +.
I have wired mine up to a PC Power Supply +5 and +12 hard wired to PCB about 5 minutes to do


As in an AT/ATX power supply?


I think it was a small format AT Power supply (Long time ago) that was capable of providing 2Amps for 5 Volts and 12 Volts
I also used an amiga 500/600 Power supply (Brick) for another.

Good Luck Ray
Audronic
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by kevman3d » Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:24 pm

TheM wrote:Chinese Post is usually very reliable (only once had a long wait with Chinese post)


Ditto... Usually I get most stuff in 2 weeks from China or Hong Kong, in their grey plasticy postage bags... I did get an odd one when I ordered 2 SNES controllers that was kinda powdery feeling. Something obviously in there that irritated the crap out of my skin... I ended chucking the bag as soon as possible.

Once something took 5 weeks, and I've only had one thing go AWOL (that was a power supply for the SNES here - but after I bought it, they changed their eBay description to say "Not for PAL systems". It never arrived anyway, and they gave me a refund after I waited 11 weeks)

Alibaba keeps all the money until you confirm delivery


Yeh, that's one of the cool things about Aliexpress... Well that, and the insane amount of cheap stuff on there. :D

Anyway, fingers crossed and can't wait. Have you got yours finished and working?
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: SIO2SD for Atari 8-bits. Any one else got one?

by kevman3d » Fri Jul 10, 2015 7:10 pm

TheM wrote:I've seen Lotharek's printed SIO connectors and have been thinking about them. But if he can print'em, why couldn't I? Hmmm....


Good idea... :)

The actual photographs (not the CAD screen shots obviously) look like the plug may have possibly been properly manufactured - I can see there's a couple of small break points on the plug part where they would have been cut after ejecting from the press, and the plastic has that fine texture across it (or he's got a 3D printer with a very fine res to get them that clean). I tried to go to the retronics.eu website that was also embossed on the plug, but that seems to be no longer in existance... I figured that they may be the company who pressed them if they were...

However - you're right... Why not print your own these days... At under $800 these days for a nice little 3D printer, they've definitely getting more affordable, making them an ideal options to prototype and play with stuff. :D

I'd like to get a 3D Printer here. Last year I modeled up a few random parts I would have liked to print to test (just some clip-in mounts for a C64 so I could non-destructively place an HDMI port and others into the holes at the back of the case rather then cutting the case (if I ever got around to slapping a Raspberry Pi inside one of the empty cases)). The cost to have someone print (and reprint) something just to see if it worked/fit properly was looking like being an expensive exercise.

In fact, just spotted this which could be interesting... A global 3D printing community... (including NZ locations)

https://www.3dhubs.com/
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests