Finding the right voltage?

Anything to do with New Zealand Classic or Vintage Computing not covered in the other forums

Finding the right voltage?

Postby Clym5 on Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:18 pm

Hey all,

I recently acquired a Datalogic SC8000 controller. Ex Air NZ I'm lead to believe. It needs a junction box to break out the connector on the bottom, which handles power, Ethernet and a few other things but I don't have the junction box (someone I know might have it though).

Does anyone here know a good way to determine input voltage for a motherboard? The specs say 24v but that's into the junction box. It takes the old style PC motherboard plug but with 3 red wires, one blank, and then two black.

Edit: removed image. It wasn't the same.

I'll put some pictures up soon as it's a really interesting device. Also, seems quite expensive...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Datalogic-SC800 ... 1259654305
http://www.ebay.com/itm/DATALOGIC-SC800 ... 0749785959
Last edited by Clym5 on Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Finding the right voltage?

Postby TheM on Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:23 pm

Looks like old style PC power supply connectors:
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnec ... html#oldpc
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: Finding the right voltage?

Postby Clym5 on Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:28 pm

On closer inspection, it doesn't physically match any of them.

http://imgur.com/a/CdNgU

Since this is an industrial board with no documentation that I can find (for the motherboard), I don't really want to try the magic smoke method!
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Finding the right voltage?

Postby SpidersWeb on Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:54 am

Follow a trace from the positive rail until you find components you can identify, and check what their ranges are. Eventually you'll come to a conclusion.

The breakout board looks like it may just pass the power through, and on the motherboard itself I see things like chokes and big caps - which makes me think it basically has a mini power supply on the board itself - so I wouldn't be completely surprised if it actually does take 24V and splits/regulates this to +12/+5/0/-12 on the motherboard.

But yeah, follow traces, look up parts. Capacitor ratings *can* help for evidence purposes too, generally a manufacturer wont use a big 50V eletrolytic cap on a 5V line for example. Good idea to check first, because chips don't like 24V generally lol
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest