Switch to full style

Finding the right voltage?

Anything to do with New Zealand Classic or Vintage Computing not covered in the other forums

Finding the right voltage?

by Clym5 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:18 pm

Hey all,

I recently acquired a Datalogic SC8000 controller. Ex Air NZ I'm lead to believe. It needs a junction box to break out the connector on the bottom, which handles power, Ethernet and a few other things but I don't have the junction box (someone I know might have it though).

Does anyone here know a good way to determine input voltage for a motherboard? The specs say 24v but that's into the junction box. It takes the old style PC motherboard plug but with 3 red wires, one blank, and then two black.

Edit: removed image. It wasn't the same.

I'll put some pictures up soon as it's a really interesting device. Also, seems quite expensive...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Datalogic-SC800 ... 1259654305
http://www.ebay.com/itm/DATALOGIC-SC800 ... 0749785959
Last edited by Clym5 on Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Finding the right voltage?

by TheM » Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:23 pm

Looks like old style PC power supply connectors:
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnec ... html#oldpc
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: Finding the right voltage?

by Clym5 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:28 pm

On closer inspection, it doesn't physically match any of them.

http://imgur.com/a/CdNgU

Since this is an industrial board with no documentation that I can find (for the motherboard), I don't really want to try the magic smoke method!
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Finding the right voltage?

by SpidersWeb » Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:54 am

Follow a trace from the positive rail until you find components you can identify, and check what their ranges are. Eventually you'll come to a conclusion.

The breakout board looks like it may just pass the power through, and on the motherboard itself I see things like chokes and big caps - which makes me think it basically has a mini power supply on the board itself - so I wouldn't be completely surprised if it actually does take 24V and splits/regulates this to +12/+5/0/-12 on the motherboard.

But yeah, follow traces, look up parts. Capacitor ratings *can* help for evidence purposes too, generally a manufacturer wont use a big 50V eletrolytic cap on a 5V line for example. Good idea to check first, because chips don't like 24V generally lol
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest