Greetings

Introduce yourself. Tell people why you are interested in vintage computers and what (if anything) you've got.

Greetings

Postby port22 on Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:11 pm

Hello guys,

Not to sure where to begin really.

I am a computer engineer working in Auckland. Have working background experience in quite a few Nix OS's and all MS OS's since 3.11. Have an avid interest in tinkering with old and new hardware. Constantly building project machines. Small form, folding@home, Prime numbering, emulating old games etc. Have recently become very interested in vintage computers, namely Archimedes and Amigas.

I was lucky enough to start playing Elite on a BBC Master Compact back in the day and am right into my EVE Online now a days on modern hardware. Am also learning the ropes of Java and Python at the moment in my spare time, when I have it.

Am going to be sorting both an Amiga and Archimedes build before the year is out (hopefully). So look forward to chatting with you all about your experiences and love of vintage computers.

Thanks! =D
Note: page may load slower on Microsoft Internet explorer than on other major browsers
port22

Re: Greetings

Postby tezza on Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:18 pm

Hi and welcome to the forums!

I didn't have an Amiga until I started collecting. I've now got a 500. However my brother owned an Amiga 2000 back in the day...he absolutely LOVED it. It's a model I wouldn't mind getting hold of one day...or even a 1200.

I can understand the interest in Archimedes from the ACORN/BBC connection but why the interest in Amigas particularly?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/co ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin

Postby port22 on Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:24 pm