pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Anything to do with New Zealand Classic or Vintage Computing not covered in the other forums

pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby Matt on Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:33 am

Like to hear what hardware people are using to get code on to thier c64's, including how much it
cost and what software is necessary on the pc side.
Matt
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 1:54 pm
Location: Seacliff, East Otago (Greater Dunedin)

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby mrad01 on Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:11 pm

mrad01
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby Clym5 on Sun Dec 28, 2014 2:26 pm

I use a 1541 Ultimate II. Sure, it is quite pricey, but it offers cartridge emulation, up to 16mb REU, 1 or 2 more emulated SID chips, 100% drive emulation, 2 emulated drives, built in SID player, fastload, etc. It is better than the SD2IEC, but that comes at a price!
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby David on Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:05 pm

I use x1541 cable i made up and star commander on a 486 computer works great. And a little tip from me if you have total commander
on a windows 98 and up 8.1 download plugins for it you can read disk images and read all commondore amiga disk files with out any trubble
and do heaps of things with it by plugins worth the download.

David B
David
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:59 pm

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby Matt on Mon Dec 29, 2014 6:13 pm

Thanks everyone I'm going to have a go at making the x1541 cable.
Matt
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 1:54 pm
Location: Seacliff, East Otago (Greater Dunedin)

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby Matt on Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:18 am

Made the cable works great - thanks David.
Matt
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 1:54 pm
Location: Seacliff, East Otago (Greater Dunedin)

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby RonTurner on Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:48 pm

I use C64 prog studio to create a disk image from 6502 assembler source code , then i use an audruno 1541 drive emulator to load it on the real c64, can load any disk from my laptop connected via usb, no memory card.
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby David on Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:14 am

No Prob there and im going to look into that audruno 1541 drive emulator i dont have one may be handy with my commodores and PC.

David B
David
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:59 pm

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby SpidersWeb on Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:35 am

Glad to hear your cable works Matt :)
David wrote:I use x1541 cable i made up and star commander on a 486 computer works great.


This is exactly what I did too but I use a Toshiba 386 portable to write the disks.

I was quite proud of my little cable and being able to use a Commodore Drive on a PC. I prefer it that way.
Only downside was an incredibly slow write speed, I didn't think it was possible to take that long to write 40 tracks single sided.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby RonTurner on Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:13 pm

.
Last edited by RonTurner on Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: pc<->c64 transfer hardware

Postby RonTurner on Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:17 pm

SpidersWeb wrote:Glad to hear your cable works Matt :)
David wrote:I use x1541 cable i made up and star commander on a 486 computer works great.


This is exactly what I did too but I use a Toshiba 386 portable to write the disks.

I was quite proud of my little cable and being able to use a Commodore Drive on a PC. I prefer it that way.
Only downside was an incredibly slow write speed, I didn't think it was possible to take that long to write 40 tracks single sided.


The C64 has super slow disk loading (actually slower than a fast loader cassette tape !!!!!) due to a bug in the CIA commodore could not correctly impliment the floppy drive so commodore patched this by using the serial port, you need an adapter and eprom to get full disk load speed.

No computer loads slower, typical loading times of 3 minutes, while an apple IIe could load the same sectors in about 5 seconds, absolutely shameful !
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest