Commodore 64 or Vic-20 power supply

Please post details of what you are looking for here.

Commodore 64 or Vic-20 power supply

Postby nama on Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:26 am

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone has a spare Commodore power supply.
Much thanks

Philip
Retro computing at: http://www.neoncluster.com
nama
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:13 am

Re: Commodore 64 or Vic-20 power supply

Postby LilJoe on Sat Jan 03, 2015 10:28 am

You could try making your own. If its of help here's the pin out.
There are only 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.Image
If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0
Roses are #FF0000, Violets are #0000FF.
LilJoe
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:51 pm
Location: Waitakere, Auckland

Re: Commodore 64 or Vic-20 power supply

Postby acsi on Sat Jan 03, 2015 11:15 am

I have one if you want. I would need to test it though.
'acsi' on trademe
acsi
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:03 pm
Location: Wellington

Re: Commodore 64 or Vic-20 power supply

Postby Clym5 on Sat Jan 03, 2015 11:26 am

I wouldn't want to risk my C64 or VIC20 on the end of one of those supplies.

I cobbled together mine from two wall-wart type power supplies. Works a treat. Stable, clean, won't put 20v on the 5v line when you have your back turned, and runs cool, so it won't burn your curtains down. (Common problem, from what I have read)
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Commodore 64 or Vic-20 power supply

Postby RonTurner on Sat Jan 03, 2015 2:54 pm

I read on lemon64 once a guys computer failed so he plugged in another c64 and it was dead to , then he tried another c64 and it was dead. Turned out the PSU was stuffed. Theres a hard lesson in there.....

Be careful to turn your 30 year old PSU off af the wall because due to a design oversight the on/off switch of a C64 does not actually turn off the power which means you can still burn your house down after switching your C64 off.
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Commodore 64 or Vic-20 power supply

Postby nama on Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:27 pm

RonTurner wrote:I read on lemon64 once a guys computer failed so he plugged in another c64 and it was dead to , then he tried another c64 and it was dead. Turned out the PSU was stuffed. Theres a hard lesson in there.....


I've read that also...it would be funny, if it wasn't so tragic.

Acsi, yes, would love to get it from you if it works...thanks!!! I'll PM you about it.

Thanks to you all, and happy new year.

Phil
Retro computing at: http://www.neoncluster.com
nama
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:13 am


Return to Vintage Items Wanted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron