C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Please post details of what you are looking for here.

C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby kevman3d on Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:30 am

I was going to add a 'me too' onto then end of nama's post, but that's not always the best (or most polite) way to ask on a forum. :wink:

If anybody spots/has a cheap PSU for C64 and/or VIC20 (I hear that they both use the same PSU?) then I have 3 machines here without one (and hence untested). I was also considering wiring up my own PSU - its something I might consider giving a bash. Not that I'm THAT electronically savvy, but I figure a bit of common sense and care would make it easy enough with the right instructions.

Also - Amiga Mouse... I've been using the Amiga/Cursors for now on the A600 here, but obviously its a little clunky to operate that way. :roll: If anybody spots/has one that's reasonably priced (as in preferably less then $30) then I'm keen to get one. Alternatively I have been considering just a USB/PS2 adapter from eBay (which are relatively cheap), but of course its always nice to have the whole system 'authentic'. :)

just thought I'd post and ask...
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby Clym5 on Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:55 am

I've got one or two spare 64/V20 power supplies you can have, untested as of now, but I'll test them out next week.

I strongly advise against using the original supplies, as more 64's have died from them than any other cause (apart from being trashed).

Making your own isn't that hard if you start off with two pre-made power supplies and solder them to the DIN power connector.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby kevman3d on Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:33 am

Yeh, I was thinking about the risks of using an original one.

From what I've seen online, they're not overly complex to make with a couple of power adapters (and most USB chargers are 5v - and cheap (I have one from Kmart I paid $12 for)). Apart from the rather hard-to-read text (ouch), this site does make it look very easy to set up... Did you know of any good basic tutorials elsewhere online that would provide a good set of clear instructions?
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby Clym5 on Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:42 am

I could whip up some graphics to show how to solder it all up, as all you need in the way of tools is a multimeter, electrical, or any heavy duty tape, and a soldering iron + solder.

A 9VAC and 5VDC wall adaptor will work, can't remember how many amps you need, but I'd always go for a little bit more than you need.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby kevman3d on Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:51 am

Groovy - if you have a quicky scribble on what solders to where, that would be cool. :D
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby Carcenomy on Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:09 pm

Yeah do it, I'd like that schematic and ratings too.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby Clym5 on Sat Jan 10, 2015 9:45 pm

I PM'ed the diagram to kevman3d, as it looked terribly unprofessional. I'll PM it to you too, Carcenomy.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby kevman3d on Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:30 pm

Clym5 wrote:I PM'ed the diagram to kevman3d, as it looked terribly unprofessional. I'll PM it to you too, Carcenomy.


lol! It was pretty good for what it needed to be. :)

I pestered my Father-in-law for a 9V AC - he didn't have anything that had 1A or higher (lots of low ampage adapters) but said he had a 10V (3A) and would build a circuit to regulate it to 9V AC - "its Bullet proof and will never fail" he said. Luckily he knows what he talks about... But I'll still have my multimeter check it first for sure... :)
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby TheM on Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:19 am

If you still need Amiga mouse there are at least two left in a box of parts I picked up from Amiga Auckland Inc. One non-original but was one of the more popular replacement models (not sure which make/model, will look it up if interested) and at least one original. All used but will be tested to ensure they're working. Amiga Auckland is still active and whatever you pay goes to the club.
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby kevman3d on Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:27 pm

TheM wrote:If you still need Amiga mouse there are at least two left in a box of parts I picked up from Amiga Auckland Inc. One non-original but was one of the more popular replacement models (not sure which make/model, will look it up if interested) and at least one original. All used but will be tested to ensure they're working. Amiga Auckland is still active and whatever you pay goes to the club.


I am still interested (since I haven't attempted to use the Amiga since I got the SD card installed and working - not much fun when there's no mouse). I'll send you a PM...

BTW, where is the Amiga Auckland group situated? While I'm not a big Amiga user, it'd still be worthwhile getting the chance to catch up with people that know what they are doing... lol! :D
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby TheM on Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:11 pm

kevman3d wrote:BTW, where is the Amiga Auckland group situated? While I'm not a big Amiga user, it'd still be worthwhile getting the chance to catch up with people that know what they are doing... lol! :D


http://www.amigaak.org.nz/

We meet on the second Tuesday of every month (except January) in the house of the club's treasurer.

Although there are a few members still messing around with 68k based Amigas, most have moved onto PPC/OS4.1.
Club owns one Amiga One and one Sam440. You can also see X1000 in action every meeting.

Due to a lack of much excitement/development in Amiga world the club is really more of a social club.
Membership fee is $35 per year.
TheM
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby Clym5 on Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:45 pm

TheM wrote:http://www.amigaak.org.nz/


I've been wondering if anything like that exists! I might have to join.. I own a few Amiga units, but my knowledge is limited. This would be great!
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: C64/VIC20 PSU and Amiga Mouse

Postby kevman3d on Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:54 pm

TheM wrote:Due to a lack of much excitement/development in Amiga world the club is really more of a social club.
Membership fee is $35 per year.


lol! I understand completely... I've been running a 3D Users group for over 18 years to support LightWave3D (the software some of us still use). Back in the 90's it was one of the applications being used for commercial VFX and animation - and while its still used the user base for my group has shrunk to around 2-3 regulars...

So its a social event as well (in fact, I have a meeting tomorrow).
"kevman3d" on trademe.
Blog
Youtube
kevman3d
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:54 pm


Return to Vintage Items Wanted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron