AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby zzap64 on Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:47 am

Hello there, was wondering if there's anyone out there who could tell me how I might go about hooking up my Amiga 500 to a VGA monitor?
zzap64
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:01 am

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby SpidersWeb on Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:38 am

I think for the 500/2000 you need a scan doubler? Most VGA displays wont go down to 320x200 or similar resolutions (VGA cards fake it by using 640x400).
Not sure, one of the Amiga guys might know more.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby zzap64 on Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:25 pm

Thanks for that Spider, don't suppose you know anyone with a commodore or other compatible Amiga monitor for sale?
zzap64
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:01 am

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby LilJoe on Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:35 pm

Try buying/making an Amiga-video to SCART cable and connect it to either a SCART to VGA adapter, T.V. with SCART in, or a SCART monitor.
There are only 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.Image
If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0
Roses are #FF0000, Violets are #0000FF.
LilJoe
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:51 pm
Location: Waitakere, Auckland

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby zzap64 on Thu Feb 19, 2015 1:23 pm

Hi there,

Yep I already have a RGB to SCART cable but alas don't have any TV or monitor with a SCART port to plug into.
zzap64
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:01 am

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby SpidersWeb on Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:24 pm

I've got a 1084S if you need to test the unit, but none spare unfortunately.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby LilJoe on Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:35 pm

Maybe this and this?
There are only 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.Image
If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0
Roses are #FF0000, Violets are #0000FF.
LilJoe
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:51 pm
Location: Waitakere, Auckland

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby SpidersWeb on Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:37 pm

Yeah, that'll be working as a scan doubler (well doing the same job).
That's pretty cheap though - the others I found were $100+. Tempted to get one myself.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby zzap64 on Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:56 pm

Hey wow thanks ever so much guys, there's some real cost effective solutions there. I managed to track down a cheap monitor with a Scart port in the back so hopefully that'll see me right!
zzap64
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:01 am

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby Clym5 on Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:33 pm

LilJoe wrote:Maybe this and this?


I think I know what I'll be buying in the morning!
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby Carcenomy on Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:09 pm

Yeah it's all about the scan doubler, the Amiga's horizontal sync is 15hz not 30hz like regular VGA. Commodore did offer a factory DB23 to VGA adapter for the Amiga, but it was almost exclusively used in conjunction with the 1940/1942 multiscan monitors. If you could find a nice VGA monitor that DOES sync down to 15hz then that's the adapter you want.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby Commodore Hugh on Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:10 pm

Hi I Brought from http://www.microbeetechnology.com.au/ VGA Video Converter kit. Some soldering is need. It let you use any PC monitor on any Amiga module

Designed to enable the use of VGA monitors with older computers, the Microbee VGA video converter allows for analogue or digital inputs
The digital mode converts true CGA digital input (RGB + Intensity) and provides the proper CGA color map. This is the mode that is used by the Microbee Premium, Premium Plus & 256TC models, along with regular IBM PC’s (CGA) and numerous other computers. Also included is a jumper ‘C128FIX’ to adapt the normal CGA color set to match the Commodore 128’s 80 column mode color set (dark yellow of the CGA set is brown in the C128’s color set).

The analogue mode allows for use with other computers that have true analogue outputs, such as the Commodore Amiga (the converter has been tested with the Amiga & works brilliantly!) Normally it works with TTL level positive HSYNC & VSYNC as the timing signals. It also has options to set the sync polarity for other video systems that differ from positive sync (15Khz) via jumpers. It can also work with a composite sync signal.

For An Amiga You Need The Full Kit $89Au & Amiga to Converter Cable $11.50AU + Postage

Hope That Helps
Hugh
Commodore Hugh
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 8:20 pm

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby Carcenomy on Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:36 pm

That's pretty freakin' rad Hugh, beats the other scandoubler options for the Amiga like the Indivision, and no modification of the base computer required. Neat!
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: AMIGA 500 TO A VGA MONITOR

Postby mangasurfer on Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:23 pm

i just got my self one of these of trade me. CGA/EGA/YUV to VGA Arcade HD Converter PCB cost 45 dollers or 33 i think off dx.com
mangasurfer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:59 am


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 3 guests