I need system80 disks

Please post details of what you are looking for here.

I need system80 disks

Postby RonTurner on Sat Mar 28, 2015 12:50 pm

Can anyone please help me with bootable floppies for my system80 ?

I have had this computer for well over two years and it still sits there unable to be worked on or any progress of any kind.

I Have asked a local collector with the disks but his drives dont work or something so he cant copy them or anything. Still wouldnt stop him from bringing them round to try in my computer, thanks anyway.....

Can anyone help with the floppies so I can determine if my disks are bad?
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby glc on Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:56 pm

I'm sure I've got a bootable floppy for a model 4p, which i have packed away.
Do you know the command line to format and copy a disk.
I think only one of the two drives was working last time I tested it


anyway, likewise with you , I am looking for a bootable floppy for a TRS-80 model 2, this is an 8" floppy.
I can supply some 8" floppy if anyone is able to help me , but they need formating


thanks
glc
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:00 am

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby RonTurner on Sat Mar 28, 2015 3:09 pm

What I could really do with is a binary snap-shot of system 80 memory while the DOS is in memory so I can load this image through the cassette port from my laptop, this would be a lot easier as a file can be emailed and I can format disks and get directories etc once I have DOS loaded into memory.
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby tezza on Sat Mar 28, 2015 3:35 pm

RonTurner wrote:What I could really do with is a binary snap-shot of system 80 memory while the DOS is in memory so I can load this image through the cassette port from my laptop, this would be a lot easier as a file can be emailed and I can format disks and get directories etc once I have DOS loaded into memory.

I can send you a disk or two Gavin. I only have single density boot disks though? PM me with your address if interested.

You can get disk images from
http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/sys ... rchive.htm
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby tezza on Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:05 pm

Actually, now I think of it I might be able to make double density ones too, using the Keil emulator in my PC.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby pavery on Sat Mar 28, 2015 8:26 pm

Tez: Being like Model I, track zero will need to be in single density. I presume RonTurner's System 80 has a doubler fitted, otherwise the entire disk has to be single density. Can your PC set up do SD ok?

Wouldn't it be easiest to copy one of your boot disks on a disked System 80 or Model 1?
pavery
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:04 am
Location: Wanganui

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby tezza on Sat Mar 28, 2015 10:52 pm

Yes that's how I would get an SD copy...I'd use my System 80 setup. I forgot about the 1st track SD issue with a Model 1 DOS. That means my PC can't make a suitable System 80 DD disk then.

Can a System 80 with a doubler read SD disks? I'm assuming it can't?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby RonTurner on Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:46 am

I did tried and download a couple of emulators of the system80 but was stumped when the unregistered version would not allow me to make a snapshot of memory.

I want to transfer DOS via cassette loading into memory so I can access the init and directory procedures.

Can anyone email me a binary dump of a system80 with DOS loaded into memory , from an emulator to save me time proc-dumping the emulator and finding the emulators memory location within the dumped file.

Once I have DOS in memory via audio transfer I will generate a floppy from assembly calls.
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby TRS80 on Sun Mar 29, 2015 2:38 pm

Can anyone email me a binary dump of a system80 with DOS loaded into memory , from an emulator to save me time proc-dumping the emulator and finding the emulators memory location within the dumped file.


Unfortunately it isn't that simple with the TRS-80 type machines. The operating systems (except for CP/M) make extensive use of overlays so the entire OS is not in memory at one time.

You really need to get a proper boot disk I am afraid.

NewDOS/80 or LDOS would be a good choice for a System/80 with expansion interface.

I think Terry offered to send you disks or failing that approach Ian Mavric in Australia. He supports the TRS-80 community in a big way.

Alternatively you can make them fairly easily using an old PC (I use a Compaq Deskpro with a P2 processor) and David Keil's emulator (Model1.exe). This supports writing to real diskettes on the PC and if the machine supports single density (like mine) you have a Model 1 boot disk.
Wanted: S-100 Bus components - please PM me if you have any. They don't even need to work!

SBC6120 / PDP11 + VAX / TRS-80 / Kaypro / Northstar / Home Brew Z80 / BBC / Amstrad / Commodore
http://www.quicktrip.co.nz/jaqblog
TRS80
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby glc on Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:04 pm

[
I can send you a disk or two Gavin. I only have single density boot disks though? PM me with your address if interested.



Hi


If you are offering some bootable 8" disks for a TRS-80, i would be grateful.
I can supply some floppies if necessary.

thanks

Grant
Last edited by glc on Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
glc
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:00 am

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby tezza on Sun Mar 29, 2015 10:57 pm

Hi Grant,

Actually ronturner is actually a Gavin but l could send you a boot disk too. Not an 8 inch one though. Only 5.25 inch single density. PM me.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby Audronic on Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:57 pm

tezza wrote:Yes that's how I would get an SD copy...I'd use my System 80 setup. I forgot about the 1st track SD issue with a Model 1 DOS. That means my PC can't make a suitable System 80 DD disk then.

Can a System 80 with a doubler read SD disks? I'm assuming it can't?


Hi Terry

The SD 5 1/4" disks will boot in a system 80, Just to prove if it works.
Most Expansions Don't have Doublers (Mine doesn't)
1) Newdos is a good way to go,2) Ldos second,3) Trsdos if you must.

Ian Mavric is always good for some booting disks if you are Stuck.

Ray (Over the Ditch)
Audronic
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby Audronic on Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:00 pm

RonTurner wrote:What I could really do with is a binary snap-shot of system 80 memory while the DOS is in memory so I can load this image through the cassette port from my laptop, this would be a lot easier as a file can be emailed and I can format disks and get directories etc once I have DOS loaded into memory.

@RonTurner

The operating systems for the Model 1/3/4 are made up of various system modules that are loaded as per command,
Sorry a dump would NOT work.

Ray (Over the Ditch)
Audronic
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby RonTurner on Tue Mar 31, 2015 7:27 am

Audronic wrote:
RonTurner wrote:What I could really do with is a binary snap-shot of system 80 memory while the DOS is in memory so I can load this image through the cassette port from my laptop, this would be a lot easier as a file can be emailed and I can format disks and get directories etc once I have DOS loaded into memory.

@RonTurner

The operating systems for the Model 1/3/4 are made up of various system modules that are loaded as per command,
Sorry a dump would NOT work.

Ray (Over the Ditch)


I have a system80 (blue label), are you saying that no two newdos80 disks are the same since the modules are relocatable and only required routines are on the disk ???? I thought thats DOS/ CP/M ?

I thought newdos bootstraps from a loading routine that loads newdos into RAM at the same address and same routines every time ?

Dont worry about trs80 solutions I dont own a trs80?

If anyone can point me in the direction of a system80 emulator that allows snapshots that would be a great help, I can extract newdos from a snapshot then transfer it through the audio port..or at least try to lol......
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: I need system80 disks

Postby tezza on Tue Mar 31, 2015 8:16 am

System 80 (essentially TRS-80 Model 1) DOS's were written to operate in a very small amount of memory. 32k of RAM (the minimum expanded RAM) but in reality less than that as applications/games typically gobbled up at least 16k of it. Because of this, the DOS tended to load system modules off the disk as they were needed. You don't get the whole DOS in memory at any one time therefore, and simply writing a memory bump to disk won't work.

In saying that, some kind of bootstrap software which could load in a WAV dump of a disk image through the cassette port and write it track by track to a real disk would be something novel and much valued by the System 80/TRS-80 community. Similar to ADT-PRO for the Apple II line. I'm not sure if this is the kind of thing you are planning though?

Anyway, A System 80 emulator can be found here.
http://gaia.atilia.eu/content/view/4/11/

It has a snapshot function. It will work with the NEWSDOS boot disk on my site here
http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/sys ... rchive.htm
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Next

Return to Vintage Items Wanted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron