Model 1 with FreHD Lowercase

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

Model 1 with FreHD Lowercase

Postby Jman on Wed Jul 01, 2015 11:19 pm

Hi

I have a Model 1 with a FreHD and it boots great but I have a lowercase issue.
I have tested the lowercase with the program on page 108 of Custom_TRS-80_and_Other_Mysteries_1982 and it works fine
On the FreHD boot screen the text is all uppercase. If I boot M1LDOS6 the date and time are lowercase as is the word "Copyright"
Once booted with the lowercase driver loaded it is always uppercase. If I do a DIR all file names are uppercase. Shift 0 does not function either
The Ready prompt is READY not Ready
The board is a G board 2 roms and boots to basic with R/S L2 BASIC
Any ideas were to start looking

Many Thanks
John
Jman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 9:24 pm
Location: Christchurch

Re: Model 1 with FreHD Lowercase

Postby tezza on Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:04 pm

John,

I'm not sure. I guess one question is is that lowercase mod compatible with LDOS6 ? There were different variations of the lower case mod and maybe not all DOS'es accommodated them. Do you get the same issue with NEWDOS 80/V2? Is there a config. switch in LDOS that needs to be set somewhere? Personally I find LSDOS and LDOS very confusing to use.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Model 1 with FreHD Lowercase

Postby Audronic on Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:04 pm

@JMan

Try below :-

SET *KI to KI/DVR (Type)

(I also have a dislike of LDos)

Good luck Ray

Manual Here

http://www.classiccmp.org/cpmarchives/t ... /Software/
Audronic
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: Model 1 with FreHD Lowercase

Postby Jman on Thu Jul 09, 2015 6:27 pm

Hi
Thanks for the reply's. Turns out if I use the Model one Autoboot rom Lowercase does indeed work.
Hence the issue is with the images used on FreHD. The wonderful people that developed the images
and the hardware are investigating

Regards
Jman
Jman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 9:24 pm
Location: Christchurch


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron