Encore

Chew the fat on more "recent" computing (1995 and upwards)

Encore

Postby Deigh on Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:53 am

I have been into computers since MSX days. My main reason is for music writing and arranging. I am getting a bit fed up with PCs and want to get back to Macintosh. I bought the latest iMac air and found to my horror it will not accept my programs like Encore and Band in a box. I returned it to supplier and am now searching for a second hand Mac that will handle these programs. Can someone advise me what to look for?
Deigh
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby nzswift on Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:12 am

What version Encore do you have?
nzswift
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:27 am

Re: Encore

Postby Deigh on Sat Sep 26, 2015 3:12 pm

I have version 5.0.5 and a previous one 1996 vintage which I would have to run to tell version. I think it was 4. Anyway it is irrelevant because I can download latest version from internet. Same applies to band in a box where I have 2004/5/8 and mac version11
Deigh
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby nzswift on Sun Sep 27, 2015 8:14 am

It seems Encore CS6 works with the latest Yosemite OSX
nzswift
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:27 am

Re: Encore

Postby acsi on Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:23 am

Looks like you'll be after a G3, G4 or maybe even a G5 PPC (PowerPC) Mac. Apple changed to Intel CPU's a while ago and the earlier ones which can run OSX version 10.4.4 to 10.6 can run PPC programs but this was removed in 10.7.

A quick look on trademe reveals this one
http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/desktops/apple-desktops/auction-954827225.htm
'acsi' on trademe
acsi
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:03 pm
Location: Wellington

Re: Encore

Postby Deigh on Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:17 am

nzswift wrote:It seems Encore CS6 works with the latest Yosemite OSX


Tried to download Encore with mac air but it failed!
What url would you advise?
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby Deigh on Mon Sep 28, 2015 3:54 pm

I'm trying to join a forum where I could get even more help but they have a portal which i cant climb. They are asking What kind of processors were used in 68k Macs and I dont know the answer.
Please help me someone. I am not a robot, here is some of my blood ............
Deigh
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby tezza on Mon Sep 28, 2015 3:58 pm

Deigh wrote:I'm trying to join a forum where I could get even more help but they have a portal which i cant climb. They are asking What kind of processors were used in 68k Macs and I dont know the answer.
Please help me someone. I am not a robot, here is some of my blood ............
Deigh

Motorola 68000 series?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Encore

Postby nzswift on Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:42 am

nzswift
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:27 am

Re: Encore

Postby Deigh on Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:43 pm

OK I've managed to obtain a G4 but it is OSX and obviously I need to add something to it to play my Encore and Band in box programs.
what do I do Now?
Deigh
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby Deigh on Thu Oct 22, 2015 11:01 am

Have purchased a G$4 OSX 10.5.8
Also purchased a disc that I expected to install OS 9 .2.1 on it. But it didn't!
I have done something wrong here, how can I get a classic environment onto this computer?
Deigh
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby Gibsaw on Thu Oct 22, 2015 1:26 pm

Deigh, you're going to need to be a lot more specific about the model of "G4" you've bought. This "the Mac just works" expectation (heh!) that some people have comes at a cost. Extremely limited compatibility lists and brutal end-of-life policies - and you're talking about a transitional period where OS9 was being phased out and OS-X was being introduced. Only SOME models were allowed compatibility with OS9 during it's sunset years, and even then it was usually a specific version of OS9.

Have a good look on your machine and see if you can find a nameplate... Then have a look through this OS9 compatibility page and see if you can find your model.

Assuming you have a"PowerMac" not an iMac G4... PowerMac G4: How to differentiate between models (part 1 and part 2)

Otherwise, start with Apple's suggestions on How to find your Mac's model and age... and google is your friend also.
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Encore

Postby Deigh on Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:07 pm

What a hornets nest I have waked into! thanks for that mass of info.
Being fed up with PC's instability I tried to get back into Macintosh to run my music programs like Encore. Bought the latest Macair and found it not compatible. Got the firm to take it back and started looking for an older machine on Trade me.
Got a MacBook pro OSX 10.6.8 and found this wasn't any good. Advice said get a G4 so....
Purchased a Ibook G4 OSX 10.5.8 and found this wasn't right. Look for a classic environment was the new advice.
But most old Macs are being sold by agents who havn't the faintest idea about the machine they are selling.
Latest advice is G3/4/5 PowerBook 10.4.4 to 10.6. Is this the right thing to do?
Deigh
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby Deigh on Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:22 pm

Gibsaw, I rather naively thought that it was only the case of taking the harddrive out of one machine and transferring it to another Mac to upgrade a machine! wow, was I innocent!
Deigh
Deigh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:47 am

Re: Encore

Postby acsi on Fri Oct 23, 2015 2:49 pm

Hi Deigh,

You will require OSX 10.4 (or lower) as they removed the classic enviroment from 10.5
'acsi' on trademe
acsi
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:03 pm
Location: Wellington

Next

Return to Non-Vintage Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron