Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby lizardb0y on Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:18 pm

I finally got these going last weekend, but haven't had a chance to try any Apple II software on it yet. I've made a short post about it here: http://www.vintage8bit.com/content/mac- ... e-iie-card

There's no ProDOS partition on the LC harcdrive so I'm thinking of doing a fresh System 7 install this weekend and re-partitioning.

Does anyone know if there's a non-destructive partitioning tool that will run on the LC?
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby tezza on Sun Aug 14, 2011 12:53 pm

Nice Stephen,

Do these cards run on a Mac SE/30? If so, it would be cool to have one.

I guess having Apple IIe emulation is one thing, but software can't be delivered from 5.25 inch floppy. How straightforward is a PRODOS partition?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby lizardb0y on Sun Aug 14, 2011 1:38 pm

tezza wrote:Do these cards run on a Mac SE/30? If so, it would be cool to have one.


No, they require the LC style Processor Direct Slot (PDS). The Colour Classic also has this slot. Apple have a compatability list here: http://support.apple.com/kb/TA46886?viewlocale=en_US

tezza wrote:I guess having Apple IIe emulation is one thing, but software can't be delivered from 5.25 inch floppy. How straightforward is a PRODOS partition?

There are two parts to answering this;
1) It is a full hardware implementation of the Apple IIe and Integrated Woz Machine, and has a breakout "Y" cable which has plugs for Apple IIe drives and joysticks. This means that you can run software straight off 5.25" floppy :)
2) In theory, you use the Control Panel to map a ProDOS partition to an Apple IIe slot, where it behaves like a Profile drive.

In practice, I've spent the whole weekend so far trying to get the right tools to partition the LC hard drive and re-install System 7. All I seem to have achieved so far is the click-of-death on the Zip Plus drive I've been using to transfer data between modern machines and Classic Macs. I hate how fragile Zip drives are - just sitting on the desk copying files it started to click, and now won't read files any more.

I have (had - they're on a Zip disk) a full set of System 7.5.3 images ready to go, but can't find any way of building a boot floppy. It's taken me a day and a half just to get Stuffit on the Mac! All of the downloads I found need Stuffit to extract them. How can I extract Stuffit before I have Stuffit to extract them?! Bloody Apple users. Never one's for thinking things through :-P
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby lizardb0y on Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:40 pm

Progress!

I have a booting Network Access 7.5 floppy, from which I have removed the networking extensions and replaced them with the Iomega Zip driver. It has successfully booted, opened the Zip drive and I'm running the HD SC Setup tool to repartition the drive now. Unfortunately I made the mistake of creating the Macintosh partition at the end of the drive by mistake, then moving it, which is taking ages. I should have deleted it and started again.
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby lizardb0y on Sun Aug 14, 2011 3:21 pm

System 7.5.3 is a bit big isn't it?

It's installing now, and will take about 52MB of my 70MB HFS partition! I've reserved 10MB for ProDOS.

Lucky I don't plan to use the LC except as a donor carcass for the IIe ;)
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby Carcenomy on Sun Aug 14, 2011 6:49 pm

Yeah that's an issue... my 575 and 580CD both have network cards, which helps - the 575 is a little trickier as it only has the PDS slot so the IIe card would have to be out first, but the 580 shares the LC630 board, so it also has a modem/ethernet slot, PDS is empty. When I move things to it, I do so from my iBook in Classic.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby lizardb0y on Sun Aug 14, 2011 10:39 pm

I've been using my Linux desktop with a USB Zip drive and sneaker net. I tried using a Powerbook running Snow Leopard but it was pretty much the same result as Linux, only it doesn't support write to HFS partitions. I had to install MacFUSE to get R/W. It has mainly worked, and now I just need to get some Apple 2 software into the ProDOS partition.
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby tezza on Sun Aug 14, 2011 11:16 pm

lizardb0y wrote:System 7.5.3 is a bit big isn't it?

It's installing now, and will take about 52MB of my 70MB HFS partition! I've reserved 10MB for ProDOS.

Lucky I don't plan to use the LC except as a donor carcass for the IIe ;)


Wow that is big. I use 7.1 on my classic II and the SE. I can't remember how big it is but I think about 10MB or so...maybe less?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby Carcenomy on Sun Aug 14, 2011 11:51 pm

IIRC early System 7 that goes with the LC-IIs etc came on six floppies... they were high density, and one or two of them were additionals like fonts and print drivers. So just over 10MB sounds about bang on. But by the time you got to 7.5, they were trying to make it capable of browsing the internet. Not a pleasant affair on System 7 at the best of times.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby lizardb0y on Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:09 pm

After removing all the unnecessary extensions and tools I could find 7.5.3 still came out at about 38 MB. I might replace it with 7.0.1.
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby tezza on Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:05 pm

lizardb0y wrote:It's taken me a day and a half just to get Stuffit on the Mac! All of the downloads I found need Stuffit to extract them. How can I extract Stuffit before I have Stuffit to extract them?! Bloody Apple users. Never one's for thinking things through :-P


Yes, I've suffered similar frustrations trying to get old Apple Mac or Lisa software off the net via my PC and then to my baby Macs (and please no-one say "Use a Mac for your Internet machine" because that's just smartarse and NOT helpful!). Forks are often lost when unstuffing on a PC. It's more than that though. Often the VERSIONS of stuffit are important depending on what version did the stuffing in the first place.

I've found a great piece of PC software called TransMac, which lets me write downloaded sit or uuencoded (hqx) files to a 1.44 MB Mac formatted floppy disk. It's shareware but I paid for a full version and it was certainly worth the money.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby Carcenomy on Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:24 pm

I found the best source for useful stuff when System 7 is getting you down is www.system7today.com, they have plenty of useful stuff over there for the late 7 releases.

I do remember StuffIt being by far the worst thing to try find though. Even finding a version that'll run under 9.2.2 turns your language blue.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Apple IIe Card and Mac LC III

Postby gavo on Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:26 pm

Probably a bit late to help you (sorry, havent really been keeping up with the board lately), but sounds like you might have found the "Linintosh" server (http://retro-net.org/~gavo/linintosh/index.html) useful. Big (although these days maybe not so) initial download, but it comes with a bunch of early Mac system software and utils - and as long as you have a windows box with a floppy drive and a Mac with an ethernet card and a super drive, you should be away.

The download is hosted here: http://www.mac68k.org/files/linintosh-0.1.zip
gavo
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:40 pm


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests