Apple ][ Euraplus

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby EmulatorCoder on Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:29 pm

...
Last edited by EmulatorCoder on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
EmulatorCoder
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:09 am

Re: Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby EmulatorCoder on Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:39 pm

...
Last edited by EmulatorCoder on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
EmulatorCoder
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:09 am

Re: Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby tezza on Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:17 pm

Try replacing the missing RAM chip with one from the top row to the very left. Those top ram chips are in the last 16k in memory and normally aren't accessed during boot up. On the other hand, those in the first two rows sometimes are. If the screen is ok once the swap is done, then you know you just need a replacement 4116 for the empty socket.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby EmulatorCoder on Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:25 pm

...
Last edited by EmulatorCoder on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
EmulatorCoder
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:09 am

Re: Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby EmulatorCoder on Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:38 pm

...
Last edited by EmulatorCoder on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
EmulatorCoder
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:09 am

Re: Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby tezza on Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:13 am

Bear in mind that the SOCKETS in these machine can also be a source of problems. It might not necessarily be the RAM chip itself. Also don't discount the logic chips.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby EmulatorCoder on Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:10 pm

...
Last edited by EmulatorCoder on Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
EmulatorCoder
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:09 am

Re: Apple ][ Euraplus

Postby falco on Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:40 pm

I'm pretty sure this machine should run OK so long it has a good row of RAM in the furthest row from the EPROMs (front of the board). My way of doing RAM checks used to be to fit a known good set to this row, boot AppleCillin (or similar?) and let it burn-in test the other two rows. It was very good at detecting failures. Once I had a known good set in all three rows, I'd swap out the rearmost row (closest to the EPROMs) and fit the old set from the front row, the burn those in as well. It was pretty quick, but did depend on getting a good set in the front row. Not that that was difficult, most RAM failures in this row would prevent the machine from booting, so bad RAM here was obvious.

Edit: I believe that the 16k machines came from the factory with only the front row populated with 4116s. No HGR or HGR2 until you populated one or two more rows.
falco
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 5:43 pm


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron