One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Please post details of what you have to sell, swap or to give away

One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:57 pm

After a restoration project, I've put one of my spare machines up on Trade Me.

Feel free to discuss, in a less restrictive format that Trade Me's question and answer format allows.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby gavo on Thu Jul 15, 2010 7:32 pm

tezza wrote:After a restoration project, I've put one of my spare machines up on Trade Me.

Feel free to discuss, in a less restrictive format that Trade Me's question and answer format allows.


Very nice. I know you have a couple of others, but I bet you will still be sad to see it go :)
gavo
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:40 pm

Re: One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:56 pm

Yes, I will be. I'm quite attached to the System 80s. Of course that's assuming someone buys it. If not, I might have a go at expanding the memory to 48k, just to see if I can do it using 4164 chips. I would never have dared doing that back in the day. In fact, I don't think I even dared to open the case until 1999, when I started the System 80 website. I knew nothing about electronics back in the 1980s and of course these machines were highly expensive. You didn't want to break anything.

Nowadays I realise just how robust these machines are. No surface mount componentry and apart from the ROMS and character generator, everything is pretty much off the shelf parts for those days. Not to difficult to trace faults and fix really.

I'd love to get my hands on a Mk2. There doesn't seem to be many of those around though.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby nama on Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:22 am

I see there were no takers on Trade me.
Retro computing at: http://www.neoncluster.com
nama
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:13 am

Re: One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:02 pm

No there wasn't.

I'm actually quite please because I wanted to try to fix that intermittant fault in the tape deck. I thought that fault was gone, but it resurfaced 1/2 through the auction when I was making a copy of the INVADERS tape. I looked at pulling the auction at that stage but Trade Me told me I'll get some black marks against me if I did, even though no one had bidded. Anyway, so I hoped no one would bid and I'd be able to have a good go at having a 100% functional unit.

Andrew Joll (AJoll) has given me some good pointers as to what the problem might be. I've been to Jaycar and have the necessary components. I'll probably have a crack at it tonight. Here's hoping.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:15 am

Today I replaced several of the capacitors in the System 80's tape deck as suggested by Andrew Joll (ajoll). I think that's fixed the problem. Eleven successive perfect loads without any of the needle wobble which was in evidence before.

Since the new case had two small switch holes in the back (one is used already for switching cassette decks) and I have the unit open, I thought I'd also add a switch to make the System 80 fully sound compatible with the TRS-80 Model 1 as is detailed here (http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/sys ... .htm#sound)
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby nama on Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:24 pm

Great stuff...this machine is getting better each day!!!!
Retro computing at: http://www.neoncluster.com
nama
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:13 am

Re: One of my System 80s on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:12 pm

I added the sound switch tonight and tested it. It works great.

It's been fun fixing this thing and adding those extra "features". I must admit I now feel a hankering to take the final step and upgrade the memory to 48k!
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand


Return to Vintage Items Available

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests