Acorn 4000

Discuss any interesting vintage computer Trade Me items here

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:01 pm

That's quite understandable Terry. Things are pretty full on at work and seeing the brown cardboard box yesterday put a smile smile on my dial. Kind of a early/late Xmas. I see Jimmy has put his up on TM c/w with nice monitor that can be used on a lot of older kit. I hope he does well.
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:01 am

The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:30 am

Well I never! Nabbed that one at a very reasonable price. Didn't quite expect that. So spare box, keyboard and mouse for my retirement projects.
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby tezza on Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:13 pm

Great price! Congratulations!
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:34 am

Cheers Terry. Going by the previous auctions I thought I may be in for a battle from the usual suspects. The hdd died on my first A4000. Not really that unexpected considering their age. Being IDE there are a few replacement options. That being said Kendell is quite happy the supply a replacement hdd for it. Can't ask for better service than that. It's pity you can't get around the 512meg single partition issue with RiscOS 3.1x. Mind you that's usually more than enough considering the size of the apps.

Got a VGA/SVGA switcher last week and have tracked down a couple of cables for sharing the 19" screen, so everything is going according to a very flexible plan.
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby SpidersWeb on Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:26 am

Good score!
I'm keen to see how you guys go about transferring data over (I haven't yet).
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:28 pm

Before the hard drive went tits on the first A4000 up I had a gander at the software installed. There was an option for setting up good old NetBuei and shares so shouldn't be much of an issue. I've got NetBuei running on my OS/2 and XP box. I think UniBoot with its replacement !boot structure gives you TCPIP so there's an option for possibly an FTP client, with the right library files, I'd imagine as well.

Quite cool they can natively read/write/format Atari and dos formatted floppy disks as well.

Anyway it's a certainly a hoot learning about a different system.
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:36 pm

A nice little Arch TCPIP setup howto thread http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... =29&t=5486
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:14 pm

The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:35 pm

I see the one in up north is a bit better priced now as well http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/vint ... 790746.htm
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby tezza on Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:20 pm

Just played around with mine tonight. Nice! My first experience with RISC OS and I like it. Intuitive once you figure out how important the middle mouse button is. Good to try a different GUI than the old Windows and Mac ones.

The machine is in very good condition with no issues.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:48 pm

That's good to hear Terry. One thing I learnt tonight is you can set up a ram disk on the fly by clicking on the task manager icon in the bottom right of the screen, scroll down to the bottom of the window, and right click and drag in the space to the right of the 'RAM disc' entry until it shows a size that suites. Handy if you have no hdd.
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby SpidersWeb on Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:05 am

caluser2000 wrote:That's good to hear Terry. One thing I learnt tonight is you can set up a ram disk on the fly by clicking on the task manager icon in the bottom right of the screen, scroll down to the bottom of the window, and right click and drag in the space to the right of the 'RAM disc' entry until it shows a size that suites. Handy if you have no hdd.


Yeah I watched someone on YouTube doing it, and had this big nostalgia moment because I did it all the time when I had one new! Especially on the A3010 model when I needed to copy things.

I've been searching ebay for original boxed Acorn titles, quite hard to find, it's mostly only Electron titles.

Good to hear yours is running well Tez.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby caluser2000 on Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:56 am

Software titles seem to be hard to get but there's a lot of of free stuff and the Archmedes software preservation project which has been contacting original title Authors to list their stuff. http://www.iconbar.com/forums/viewthrea ... 919&page=2

Looks like there maybe a mobo issue with the IDE on my setup. Kendall is sending out another board to try out next week. Other then that it's running fine.

Pretty well spent my retro computing budget for the next few months but you never know when the mood stikes ah? :) Timing is everything.
The Acorn never falls far from the tree.. x86 GUI whore.
caluser2000
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: Acorn 4000

Postby tezza on Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:01 am

The Acorn A4000 has been added to the rest home.
http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... n-4000.htm
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

PreviousNext

Return to Trade Me

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron