Forum Bandwidth

Discuss topics which do not fit into any of the forums above

Forum Bandwidth

Postby Carcenomy on Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:31 am

So Tezza's involuntarily gone over his bandwidth limits twice in a month now, personally it sounds like time to move hosting provider. Anyone here dabble in web development enough to know who does some wicked deals on hosting these days?
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Forum Bandwidth

Postby Gibsaw on Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:53 pm

Possibly, but the second you want to host something it suddenly starts getting more expensive per MB than downloading it.

There are also other ways to handle the dilemma. There are other places to host the big scans and other large bandwidth files.

You're already using Youtube... Think about a way to suck someone else's bandwidth... Hard links to dropbox folders and things like that. Hey, even Mega-ego might have a means of hosting those for free. (I haven't checked out the "mega" service in detail.)

I'm sure a creative solution is possible.
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Forum Bandwidth

Postby lizardb0y on Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:08 pm

I have a Debian GNU/Linux virtual server with 25GB disk space and 1TB monthly traffic for $40 USD per year. More than enough for a web site or two. The host - http://eoreality.net/ - specialise in gaming servers, so performance has always been pretty good.

My experience has been that NZ based hosting services are wretchedly expensive compared to what's available if you ship around.
lizardb0y / Andrew
Just another 8-bit hustler

blog: http://www.vintage8bit.com
twitter: @vintage8bit
google+: http://gplus.to/lizardb0y
trademe: andrew9 - over 500 positive trades.
lizardb0y
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:50 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Forum Bandwidth

Postby tezza on Mon Apr 01, 2013 8:17 pm

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I've got some unlimited bandwidth solutions I'm working on. I'll let you know when I'll be moving servers. Hopefully disruption can be kept to a minimum. Given that the domain serves an international audience I'm not wedded to having the server in NZ. It's certainly cheaper in other places.

Yes, the bandwidth has just been getting larger and larger as time goes by. Now it regularly exceeds 10MB a month and that's starting to cost me. That despite the fact that the big MB objects (most manuals etc.) are served from my dropbox rather than the website. At least the website's being visited so that's a good thing as far as being a community resource is concerned.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand


Return to Other Off-Topic Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests