Apple ||e boot up screen

Anything to do with New Zealand Classic or Vintage Computing not covered in the other forums

Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby manuka on Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:26 pm

Hi all, we had an Aplle ||e turn up this morning. Powers on without releasing any magic smoke. I get the words Apple ||e appear on the screen but no cursor which seems to be what is supposed to happen, I don't have any floppies to test any further.

Is this standard ||e behaviour?
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby tezza on Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:35 pm

It's standard behaviour IF the Disk controller card is inserted and there are no drives or boot disks. Check to see if there is a disk controller card and remove it.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby manuka on Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:01 pm

Thanks Tezza, removed the disk controller card and got a cursor. Keyboard works and looks in pretty good nick. I guess we will be putting this up on trademe next Wednesday.
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby RonTurner on Thu Jul 10, 2014 6:32 pm

Control + Reset to get prompt when disk controller card is installed.
]

Would you like me to drop off a tested/working Apple II 5.25 Floppy Disk ?
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby manuka on Fri Jul 11, 2014 12:17 pm

Sure thing RonTurner, as long as it's not out of your way.
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby RonTurner on Fri Jul 11, 2014 4:49 pm

I will be in the area Tues/Wed, will drop off some floppies :-)
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby manuka on Mon Jul 14, 2014 8:44 am

Thanks :)
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby manuka on Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:30 pm

I did find a boot disk for a ||e and it kinda boots up albeit with a garbled screen. Interested to see if I get a better result with your disk. Many of the disks in the box have visable surface mould so no surprise I'm getting a little weirdness I suppose.

Image

Image
Last edited by manuka on Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby RonTurner on Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:42 pm

Not a problem, I have some here, you can keep them for the auction :D

Q: What do you call an Apple IIe after the smoke comes out of the PSU ?

A: An Apple Poo-e

The disk you want is Copy 2+ this can copy a disk in two swaps, also nibble copy, has options to verify disks and format disks
the important thing being the format option as Apple DOS does not have a format command for preparing floppies for use.

The lack of a format command is what will leave a vintage computer owner in the lurch :wink:
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby Gibsaw on Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:07 pm

RonTurner wrote:The disk you want is Copy 2+ this can copy a disk in two swaps, also nibble copy, has options to verify disks and format disks
the important thing being the format option as Apple DOS does not have a format command for preparing floppies for use.


The ROM's include basic sector read/write and a bootloader. Once DOS loads from disk, the command is "INIT". (Any DOS3.3 bootable disk can do this)
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby tezza on Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:34 pm

manuka wrote:I did find a boot disk for a ||e and it kinda boots up albeit with a garbled screen. Interested to see if I get a better result with your disk. Many of the disks in the box have visable surface mould so no surprise I'm getting a little weirdness I suppose.

Is the weird screen only in 80 columns? 80 column RAM?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2291
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby RonTurner on Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:57 pm

That is the system disk menu in 80 column mode in second photo by the look of it.

I have made up some disks, including:

Copy 2+ 8.2
Locksmith 6.0
Karateka
Tetris 2
Dos Boss
Solo Flight

I highly recommend you run Tetris 2 and puzzle over how did they make two track synth audio on an apple 2?

Copy 2+ and locksmith provide a wide range of disk tools, do everything like: undelete,verify,format,disk recovery, sector tools , drive speed check etc.

Looks like there is something wrong with the 80 card, it may just need reseating.

That's a colour composite monitor, the computer and monitor will be NTSC that's why the monitor is good to have since most brand monitors are PAL
RonTurner
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:43 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby Gibsaw on Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:03 am

tezza wrote:Is the weird screen only in 80 columns? 80 column RAM?

certainly looks that way.
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby manuka on Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:50 am

Yip I took the ram out clean the contacts and reseated it and the screen is coming up perfect now. Thanks guys :)
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Apple ||e boot up screen

Postby Gibsaw on Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:43 pm

RonTurner wrote:I highly recommend you run Tetris 2 and puzzle over how did they make two track synth audio on an apple 2?

... and then run Music Toolkit and watch it do four voices. (It's doing PCM with the speaker softswitch. CPU heavy but it works.)
"dsakey" on trademe. Apple II's are my thing.
Gibsaw
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:45 pm
Location: Auckland

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron