Toshiba T3200SX D.O.A

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Clym5 on Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:01 pm

I'd run DOS on the T3200SX. I'd use DOS on any computer that can't run anything less than 98-SE.

Oh well, 1mb is plenty anyway. I am planning to put a PnP Ethernet card, and some unbranded soundcard in there. That soundcard isn't very good though. The audio is all muddy sounding.

I meant 5150, not 5100! I wish it was a 5100 though.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby SpidersWeb on Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:14 am

Yeah for a DOS PC, 1Mb does you fine. It is a big sluggish with Windows but if you're not using that then it doesn't matter.

5150 is still cool though, not often you see a PC with a Cassette port on the back.

PNP Ethernat cards often have Boot ROM sockets ;) - that's where you'd put the XT-IDE ROM - if it powers up I can easily send you a network card with it already installed (for stuff like this, I have lots of spares). The upside is you can just plug in almost any IDE drive (or possibly IDE-CF adapter) and it'll just auto detect and work. Downside is it stops working if you pull out the ethernet card.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Clym5 on Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:22 am

I've got a ethernet card kicking around. The only markings on it are RTS8019A. It has the boot room socket, but I can't get the damn ethernet side of it going.

Once I get the T3200SX, I'll test it out with something that isn't a Conner drive and if that doesn't work, I might have to call in that favor for a XT-IDE ROM.

Since it needs the ethernet card, it's almost like killing two birds with one stone. I get internet, and working hard drives with one card.

Hopefully I can remember how the computer goes back together once I fix the PSU..
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby SpidersWeb on Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:28 pm

I think it might be RTL8019AS? Was a common network card. If it is, you'll want the setup program (RSET8019.EXE) to configure it, and also a router/switch that supports the older 10Mbps.
Packet drivers are around - if you can't find this let me know, I remember installing one on my NWLite network (the IPC AT I think?) so I must have the driver disk ZIP file somewhere.

For DOS internet, mTCP is worth a look.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Clym5 on Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:48 pm

I've got a 10mbps switch, but no software for it. All the stupid and packet drivers have failed to see the card. If you come across the packet driver, I'd appreciate it!

I'll have a look into mTCP. I'm testing the card on my Venturis 466. 486 DX2 66 with 20mb RAM. Would a graphical browser work on that hardware? Sorry about going slightly off topic.

I know a fellow radio ham who might be able to repair the PSU. I wouldn't be able to look at it for a week or two, so I might give it to him to look at.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby SpidersWeb on Sun Jul 27, 2014 7:26 pm

I haven't done much with the internet on older PCs, it's just a bit difficult to navigate your way around the web these days on old hardware / software. Before Windows 95/98, you were able to get Windows 3.1 on the internet though - if I remember correctly it needs the Win32S add on, TCP/IP add on, and WinSock? I think?.

Here is the files I have for the RT8019 - hopefully it's a match: http://baudband.net/downloads/rt8019.zip
You'll need to run RSET8019 to setup the address, IRQ, and options. You can check for free IRQs with CheckIt or if you're running DOS 6 just type "msd" and go to interrupts - usually IRQ 10,11,12 wont be used. For the address, I'd go with 300H which seems to be the standard place to put them. If the packet driver (PNPODI.COM) doesn't do the job, I'd recommend trying an NE2000 driver - just make sure to point it at the IRQ and address you set with RSET8019.
Wanted - Dead or Alive - Reward $$$: Compaq Deskpro 8088 / 286 / 386 - IBM RT 6150/6151 parts - AT&T 3B2 parts
VC Twitter
SpidersWeb
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:38 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Carcenomy on Mon Jul 28, 2014 2:09 pm

You use Lynx.

What type of drive does the T3200DX take? I have a swag of old Conners...
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby xjas on Mon Jul 28, 2014 3:41 pm

Clym5 wrote:I'll have a look into mTCP. I'm testing the card on my Venturis 466. 486 DX2 66 with 20mb RAM. Would a graphical browser work on that hardware? Sorry about going slightly off topic.


I used to run the graphical Arachne browser under DOS on a Cyrix 5x86 (sort of a 100MHz 486-P5 hybrid) ages ago. It ran well enough but its HTML/CSS engine was already primitive in the early 2000s and it didn't support many websites even then. Worth giving it a try though - link is to a lot newer version than what I used.

Also my laptop in uni (around the same time) was an already-severely-outdated 486/100 with Win95; did a lot of web browsing on it with Opera 4 or 5. I think it had 96 MB of memory though which helped.
xjas
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:10 pm
Location: A long way away from central Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Clym5 on Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:00 pm

Thanks for the suggestions! I've got Lynx running nicely now. The graphical browsers were just too much for the under-clocked 486. Too lazy to put a heatsink on it, so I took it to 50mhz. Runs much cooler.

The Toshiba uses Conner CP-3044 or CP-3000 drives, according to SpidersWeb's website. I don't have the T3200SX with me, so I can't check what mine is. Though, I'll probably go with the XT version of the AT-IDE boot ROM that lets you use any drive. Saves relying on a 20 or more year old drive. I'll probably put a CF-IDE drive in there. I might put a weight in there to keep it all balanced.

Thanks for the offer though!

Still no real progress with the PSU. There should be some soon though, so I'll post back then. In the meantime, I've acquired a huge amount of 30 pin RAM, so I'm sure at least one stick will work in the computer. It's be nice to have some extra RAM since I'll be doing a lot of music related stuff on the computer.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby xjas on Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:15 pm

Clym5 wrote:Still no real progress with the PSU. There should be some soon though, so I'll post back then. In the meantime, I've acquired a huge amount of 30 pin RAM, so I'm sure at least one stick will work in the computer. It's be nice to have some extra RAM since I'll be doing a lot of music related stuff on the computer.


Ooh, what music stuff are you doing? I was interested in one of those to run as a portable DOS-based MIDI sequencer a while ago, but I eventually went with a re-purposed "vintage" rackmount server with approx. 1 million ISA slots instead. I would kill for a Yamaha C1 Music Computer though (which I believe is based on Toshiba's designs?)
xjas
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:10 pm
Location: A long way away from central Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Clym5 on Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:39 am

Sadly, just plain old Impulse Tracker. That old rackmount server sounds neat!

I find it easier to make the songs on a Amiga, but harder to get the samples on it and such. I thought maybe some PC-Amiga teamwork was in need.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby xjas on Fri Aug 01, 2014 11:58 am

"Sadly" Impulse Tracker? Hah, IT is the master sequencer in my studio setup. I've been tracking with it since I was a teenager and these days it's like putting on a really comfortable pair of shoes... That was actually the genesis of my whole project - I wanted to control MIDI hardware with IT, and to do that you need one of two specific sound cards, both ISA. Of course "I need an ISA slot for this AWE64" turned into a full-on circa-1998 music workstation build with everything I could think of to throw at it, but it works *amazingly* well now that I've got all the bits together.

Hehe, I make samples on a Roland hardware sampler and get them onto the DOS rig via zip disks. I've wanted an Amiga to play around with for a while, but I want an A600 & don't feel like paying Trademe nosebleed prices for one.

Didn't think there were any other tracker musicians around! Tracker/demoscene activity in NZ is kinda nonexistent from what I can tell.

What sound card are you using in the Toshiba? I still have a couple ESS Audiodrives kicking around if you need a really good SB clone.
xjas
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:10 pm
Location: A long way away from central Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Clym5 on Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:32 pm

I've got a unbranded SB16 clone that sounds like mud.

The PC beeper sounds better!

I usually stick to Protracker, LSDJ and SunVox. IT is new-ish to me.

I wasn't brought up with some of the older software, it was all FL Studio and Kelloggs Music Composer that came with Coco Pops, if I recall correctly!

I've been working on turning an electric keyboard I found in someone's bin into a midi synth. It has no keys, but I can play Mary had a little lamb by shorting pins on the PCB. But apart from that, I don't have any other gear.

If you want, I have a spare A500 with a ram expansion. My 1200 is all set up for music and games, but I just don't have enough RAM in it. Completely stock.

I hope I'm not going too off topic..
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby xjas on Fri Aug 01, 2014 1:21 pm

Cool, I'm a SunVox fan too, did a track with it in February that actually got me a bit of internet fame. I was looking into setting up a cheap thin client as a dedicated SunVox MIDI module but that's going way off topic for this thread.

Just looked through my box of soundcards; I still have 2 very tidy ESS Audiodrives, an Aztech Sound Galaxy, and a couple of dirty unbranded cards (one of which has a real OPL3 chip.) You're welcome to any/all of them if you like. I actually prefer the ESS cards to pre-AWE SBs, they're very compatible and the DACs are a lot cleaner.

...BUT, if you want one of the *best* cards you can get for tracking in IT, shoot Carcenomy a PM - he mentioned he had an SB32 PnP kicking around (same as an AWE32.) It has 30-pin SIMM slots for memory... The hardware mixing and dedicated sampling RAM will free up a *lot* of system resources which is kinda vital on a 386/486 machine. I don't know how well it would fit into the laptop though, especially with SIMMs installed - they are pretty big cards.

I think I'm good on the Amiga front right now, I don't really have the space for a full A500 setup. & trying to cut down on the GAS a bit. ;) I've been playing with Hoffman's PT-1210 DJ app on an emulator though; heaps of fun.
xjas
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:10 pm
Location: A long way away from central Auckland

Re: Toshiba T3200DX D.O.A

Postby Clym5 on Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:52 pm

Hmm, I'm not too fussed about the sound quality on the PC side too much, but a card that has some high end on it, so it doesn't sound like I'm listening to it through a pillow would be nice. The ESS audiodrive does sound nice though. I'll PM you about it. Thanks!

That SB32 sounds like a beast! Most of the audio stuff is done on my Amiga though. It's hooked up to some really nice audio gear, circa 1972, and sounds better than you'd expect.

Hopefully I might have news about the faulty PSU on Saturday.
Amiga 4000: Apollo Turbo 040, 128MB Fast, 40gb HDD, CD-ROM (needs internet)
C64: 1541U-II, MixSID, WiFi, LumaFix64
ZX Spec, A1200, CD32, MacPlus/SE, A500, BBC Turbo Master (NASA), 2600, Acorn 4000, VIC-20, IBM 5155, GameBoy
Clym5
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 5:23 pm
Location: Meadowbank, Auckland

PreviousNext

Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests