Apple II clone available

Please post details of what you have to sell, swap or to give away

Apple II clone available

Postby Graham on Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:55 pm

G'day everyone,

New to your group - just joined as I've cleaned out my basement and found an old Apple II clone I last used about 20 years ago. I know I'll never use it again so I should move it on to a better home, and if it's worth a few dollars to someone then so much the better (that'd justify me hanging on to it all these years!).

It was working when I last turned it off and mothballed it away (it had been our daily-use computer for years until then), but now I've uncovered it years later and it doesn't work any more.

I'm no Apple expert, but the base unit is I think a clone of some early-ish variety of Apple II - the m'board is labelled VECTORIO, and I recall from when we were using it that the startup screen used to show JABBAL-64 or something similar, whatever that meant.
The VDU is labelled KAGA.
There are also two disc drives but no idea if they still work, and sorry but there're no discs or manuals at all, darn it.
There are several plug-in cards in the m'board, complete with external ribbon cables - maybe one's a disc drive card and I do recall that one's an 80-col card, but don't know about the others.

Anyway the whole thing's pretty clean & tidy inside and out, but........ it doesn't actually work! The PSU light and the K/B power-light do come on OK, and VDU gives the odd green flash when you wiggle the Brightness knob, but otherwise there's nothing on the VDU, with it connected to either the 40 or 80 col output of the base unit. Might just be corroded card or cable connectors, but who knows......

Anyway then, what does anyone think, is it worth anything to anyone, or otherwise does anyone want to take it away and save it from the tip?

Thanks for reading,
and best regards,
Graham Hilder,
Paekakariki.
Email graham.joan@paradise.net.nz
Phone 04-905-8328
Graham