Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:12 pm

This machine came to me without a monitor cable. Amazingly I could buy one new over the Internet for $18??? That's right, a genuine new QX-10 monitor cable! Amazing! I was expecting to have to wire one up.

Anyway, I did the big switch on tonight. Fans wirred, drives spun, keyboard lights flashed momentarily. Then on the screen appeared the words "INSERT DISKETTE".

It works!! :D

I had to take the monitor casing off to adjust the vertical hold but it seems the basic electronics and the screen are AOK.

Now I just need to get a disk image onto a floppy and I can see what state the drives are in. They certainly spin up OK so I'm hopeful.

I'll post progress notes. Might not get around to it for a few days though.

I'm happy!
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:43 am

Ok, I've made some CP/M disks and have ascertained the disk drives work.

That's the good news.

The bad news is after about an hour of use the power started to flicker on and off very quickly and erratically. Some problem in the PSU I think.

So, the machine is now in the queue for a repair project. Oh well, it happens with these old machines. Could be a short just starting, a cap or power transistor starting to go or something as simple as a loose wire?
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby arjoll on Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:35 pm

I would recap it first. Use good quality low ESR caps from the likes of element14, not the cheapies from Jaycar - they'll get a hard life in a switch-mode PSU. You don't have to go silly on the caps, the mid range Panasonic 105deg low ESR ones (can't remember what range) are fine.

http://nz.element14.com/aluminium-electrolytic

If the thing is still running the switching transistor or FET is probably fine, but I wouldn't run it until you've recapped.
'arjoll' on Trademe
Wishlist: BBC model B, Spectrum 48k and anything Sord.
arjoll
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:27 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby Carcenomy on Thu Nov 22, 2012 8:29 pm

Yeah if it's getting unstable get on top of it before something bad happens and waxes the thing.
Just the local Commodore hobo and middle-aged PC hoarder.
eisa on Trademe. A lasting reminder of a Compaq fetish when I was younger.
Carcenomy
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Invercargill

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby manuka on Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:18 am

Glad to see it's gone to a good home :D
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:20 am

Hmm...this might be trickier than first thought. Rather than duplicate the latest update, if you're interested you can read what I posted on the Vintage Computer Forums here:
http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum ... post253839

Now it's a matter of waiting for the replacement part to arrive.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Sat Dec 15, 2012 9:33 pm

The replacement part seemed to do the job. I haven't tested it extensively but the QX-10 now appears to be working and stable.

I'm happy :)
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby tezza on Mon Dec 17, 2012 1:48 pm

Ok, I've now tested this a little more and the original issue is still present. I must have zapped the power switch IC when I was testing the PSU, so I've repaired that but not the original fault. I suspect it's a cap going out of tolerance once fully warm and causing a short. Not an easy thing to diagnose!

Anyway, I've added it to my collection pages even though it's still technically in sick bay.
http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... n-qx10.htm
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/col ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: Epson QX-10 I got on Trade Me

Postby manuka on Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:17 pm

If you suspect dodgy capacitors you could try getting hold of an ESR meter. We fix quite a few larger LCD monitors at work and come across a few who's capacitors show no physical signs of fault but fail when tested with an ESR meter. I'm looking at building one following this guys schematic; http://ludens.cl/Electron/esr/esr.html You can also find them on EBay at a reasonable or not so reasonable price.
molten_media on TradeMe, which is also my place of work. No particular interests apart from passing on some of the gems that come through the door.
manuka
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 pm


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron