EACA Genie I

Seek advice, give advice or tell others about your repair and restoration projects

EACA Genie I

Postby Patrick on Tue Sep 03, 2019 2:21 am

I just got an EACA Genie I, my first computer in the TRS-80 familly.
It seems to work, but my TV (10 years old) doesn't succeed to display UHF channel 36. I can see the message ready and the prompt when searching (and type also) but can't set the channel.
No matter, I will first make a composite cable.
I need a key switch because it is broken for the NEW LINE key (broken and glued, so that I think that replacement is the only solution). Do you know where I can get one ?
I need also two switch caps for the reset and cut buttons. Is this model OK? If not, do you know what is the correct model?
I will post photographs soon.
Thanks for your help.
Patrick
Patrick
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:11 am

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby tezza on Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:31 am

Patrick wrote:I need a key switch because it is broken for the NEW LINE key (broken and glued, so that I think that replacement is the only solution). Do you know where I can get one ?
I need also two switch caps for the reset and cut buttons. Is this model OK? If not, do you know what is the correct model?


I don't know where you would get a key switch. Probably an old "parts" System 80 that someone might have lying around. Unfortunately I have no spares.

Regarding the switch caps the ones in the URL LOOK about right.

Apart from the key switch, it looks like it boots to BASIC. That's a good sign.
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/co ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Audronic on Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:03 am

You could try :-

ianmav@netspace.net.au

Ian has a lot of spares.

Good luck. Ray ( Over the ditch)
Audronic
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Patrick on Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:52 pm

Thank you all for your answers and your advices.
I ordered the switch caps: needs 2 but will get 50. I will have a lot of unused spares :( .
This is a photography of the problem with the keyboard:
Image

As the brown mobile part is completely glued in the key switch I don't see any other solution than replacing the key switch. I can keep the key if I remove with caution the broken remaining part of the key switch.

I will send a mail to Ian.
Patrick
Patrick
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:11 am

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Beaglz on Wed Sep 04, 2019 5:40 pm

Patrick wrote:I just got an EACA Genie I, my first computer in the TRS-80 familly.
It seems to work, but my TV (10 years old) doesn't succeed to display UHF channel 36. I can see the message ready and the prompt when searching (and type also) but can't set the channel.
No matter, I will first make a composite cable.
I need a key switch because it is broken for the NEW LINE key (broken and glued, so that I think that replacement is the only solution). Do you know where I can get one ?
I need also two switch caps for the reset and cut buttons. Is this model OK? If not, do you know what is the correct model?
I will post photographs soon.
Thanks for your help.


May be a bit late but I have my Video Genie / System 80 parts up for auction on TM at the moment:

https://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=2296263947

Just taking up space and not getting time to get around to attempt to fix one of them. Got a couple of working machines so that will keep me busy plus other projects.
Beaglz
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Patrick on Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:44 am

I sent an email to ianmav@netspace.net.au ten days ago but I have no answer.
Is there another way to get in touch with him?
I received today the parts to do my composite cable. I will certainly do it this week-end.
Patrick
Patrick
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:11 am

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby tezza on Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:36 am

Hmm...that's the correct email address as far as I know.

He's also very active on the TRS-80 Model 1-4/4P group which is here:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/518576268291383/
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/co ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Audronic on Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:00 pm

Hi Patrick

I will call Ian on the Phone (he is local here).

Ray
Audronic
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Audronic on Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:08 pm

Hi Patrick

Ian replied on the day you emailed him.

BUT Ians Email to you BOUNCED ??

Can you send Ian an other Email address Please
Ian will talk to Tezza to see if the email problems can be resolved

Ray
Audronic
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 11:08 pm
Location: Williamstown Victoria 3016 Australia

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Patrick on Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:48 pm

Hello,
Thank you all. I have an answer from Ian today.
Patrick
Patrick
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:11 am

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Patrick on Sat Sep 21, 2019 10:58 pm

Some news today.
First, I have ordered a keyswitch from Ian.
Then, I have also done a composite cable so I have no problem to have a good display now. I tested the keyboard and several keys are not working. I will have to investigate but not before receiving the packet from Ian. It will take 10 to 14 days and I don't want to have my Genie disassembled for such a long time. So I will wait.
And finally I receiveed this morning the switch caps:
Image

It looks perfect for me. I don't know if it is different from the original parts. If someone wants some I have 48 left :D
I think that I will remove the protective plastic film still present. It is not in good condition and in some places it has caused the appearance of rust
Patrick
Patrick
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:11 am

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Patrick on Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:27 am

Hi,
The restoration is done:
Image

I had problems with 7 other keys and needed to replace the LEDs, because of rust and humidity, but now it is working.

If you can read french, here is a topic with more details and photographs.
Thank you all for your help :D.
Patrick
Patrick
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:11 am

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby tezza on Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:25 am

Look great! Well done Patrick!
Tez (Terry Stewart) (Administrator)
Collection: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/co ... /index.htm
Projects and Articles: https://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/index.htm
Twitter: @classiccomputNZ | YouTube: Terry Stewart
Trade Me: tezza5
tezza
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 pm
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

Re: EACA Genie I

Postby Mark0x01 on Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:07 am

I'm not sure if it would work on a Genie, but on the BBC Micro, which were UHF when TV's here didn't support UHF, rewinding the rf coil in the modulator with, if I recall correctly, 2 1/2 turns instead of the 1/2 turn, moved it into the vhf range.
They were done "in situ" so only took minutes once the modulator cover was removed.
Mark0x01
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 2:11 pm


Return to Repair and Restoration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron